Cool menorahs (and some interesting traditional ones too)

O.K. I tend to shop at the last minute because my life is beyond hectic. Hanukkah is around the corner, therefore, menorah talk ensues. Oil vs. candle types. What is a kosher menorah? Blah, blah, blah…

So, I’ll start with the basic guidelines.

What is a kosher menorah? This a link to the Chabad site which gives you the skinny.

I think a mitzvah should be beautified. I’m a creative type so the marriage between aesthetics and function is extremely important to me. Also, Judaism is a way of life not a prison term. So there are plenty of options for those who want to stay traditional and those who are more daring.


Sleek Mod
metal alloy, “Illume” by Nambe, $175, Macy*s


Art Deco Menorah I
metal, $50, Target


Cubist Menorah
ceramic, modular, $239, Modern Tribe


Glass Menorah
blown glass, Roost, $48, orange & pear


Matchbox Menorah
oil menorah, ceramic, “Last Match” by Kathleen Walsh,
also in black, $240, Unica Home


Art Deco Menorah II
painted metal with Austrian crystals, $288, Lenox Judaica


Cat children’s menorah
painted metal, $34, Eichler’s

crate and barrel menorah
Traditional Modern
nickel plated stainless steel, $27, Crate and Barrel

So, here’s the first set of nine menorahs. So discuss my compatriot fashionistas!

Coming up this week: more menorahs (duh!), gifts for under $50, DIY gift options, and of course holiday outfits.

24 thoughts on “Cool menorahs (and some interesting traditional ones too)

  1. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.
    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!
    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

  2. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.

    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!

    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

  3. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.

    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!

    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

  4. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.

    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!

    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

  5. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.

    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!

    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

  6. The first I dug because it totally looks like a shofar. I think it would make a great display piece year round.
    I found the same chanukiah in chrome. But that’s for a different post!
    I do read Aliza’s blog. It’s pretty cool. I also follow her on twitter!

Leave a Reply

