shopping post

Today, was insanely busy! I went all over Brooklyn. Then I went to the Upper West Side for my Hebrew class.

I explored a different Judaica shop this afternoon. I visited Heichel Hasforim Judaica; instead of my usual Eichler’s. It was a scorcher and I didn’t think I’d make it around the corner 🙂

Fortunately, for me laziness grants me bargains!

Candlesticks, $11


Daughters of Dignity, $11 (please note, the link is to eichler’s!)
It reads like an abridged version of Modesty: An Adornment for LIfe.

They also had a whole row of books that was Buy 1, Get 1 50% off. KBD cookbooks were in the stack as well. So that was cool!

I also got a headset for my Blackberry so I can hear clearly now, LOL!

Well, it’s almost midnight so I should chill out for a few minutes.

25 thoughts on “shopping post

  1. You know what it is… I think Modest: An Adornment for Life is one of those books that people can get nutty if they feel like it. Yeah, the anti-denim sentiment is nutty and unrealistic. I like the book I got; although I found something odd in it.
    The excerpts that I read from Google Books actually said a lot of things that I agree with. For example, he wrote about how dressing sloppy is not tzniusdik. And it’s true…. sloppy and/or dirty clothes defeats the purpose!

  2. You know what it is… I think Modest: An Adornment for Life is one of those books that people can get nutty if they feel like it. Yeah, the anti-denim sentiment is nutty and unrealistic. I like the book I got; although I found something odd in it.

    The excerpts that I read from Google Books actually said a lot of things that I agree with. For example, he wrote about how dressing sloppy is not tzniusdik. And it’s true…. sloppy and/or dirty clothes defeats the purpose!

  3. You know what it is… I think Modest: An Adornment for Life is one of those books that people can get nutty if they feel like it. Yeah, the anti-denim sentiment is nutty and unrealistic. I like the book I got; although I found something odd in it.

    The excerpts that I read from Google Books actually said a lot of things that I agree with. For example, he wrote about how dressing sloppy is not tzniusdik. And it’s true…. sloppy and/or dirty clothes defeats the purpose!

  4. You know what it is… I think Modest: An Adornment for Life is one of those books that people can get nutty if they feel like it. Yeah, the anti-denim sentiment is nutty and unrealistic. I like the book I got; although I found something odd in it.
    The excerpts that I read from Google Books actually said a lot of things that I agree with. For example, he wrote about how dressing sloppy is not tzniusdik. And it’s true…. sloppy and/or dirty clothes defeats the purpose!

  5. The thing that got me in Modest: aAfL wasn’t the anti denim sentiment–I’d at least heard of that before, although I disagree–but statements along the line of floor-length skirts being immodest because they might make ankles sexy, or red hearts being anti-Torah but any other colour of heart being mere decoration. I do agree that Rabbi Falk’s book has many good points, but it seems like he drowns out a lot of those opints in rhetoric and being extra-machmir for the sake of being machmir.
    Is Daughters of Dignity any less extreme? Would you recommend it to someone like me?
    By the way, this blog is an inspiration. It’s nice to see all the ways you make tznius beautiful.

  6. The thing that got me in Modest: aAfL wasn’t the anti denim sentiment–I’d at least heard of that before, although I disagree–but statements along the line of floor-length skirts being immodest because they might make ankles sexy, or red hearts being anti-Torah but any other colour of heart being mere decoration. I do agree that Rabbi Falk’s book has many good points, but it seems like he drowns out a lot of those opints in rhetoric and being extra-machmir for the sake of being machmir.

    Is Daughters of Dignity any less extreme? Would you recommend it to someone like me?

    By the way, this blog is an inspiration. It’s nice to see all the ways you make tznius beautiful.

  7. The thing that got me in Modest: aAfL wasn’t the anti denim sentiment–I’d at least heard of that before, although I disagree–but statements along the line of floor-length skirts being immodest because they might make ankles sexy, or red hearts being anti-Torah but any other colour of heart being mere decoration. I do agree that Rabbi Falk’s book has many good points, but it seems like he drowns out a lot of those opints in rhetoric and being extra-machmir for the sake of being machmir.

    Is Daughters of Dignity any less extreme? Would you recommend it to someone like me?

    By the way, this blog is an inspiration. It’s nice to see all the ways you make tznius beautiful.

  8. The thing that got me in Modest: aAfL wasn’t the anti denim sentiment–I’d at least heard of that before, although I disagree–but statements along the line of floor-length skirts being immodest because they might make ankles sexy, or red hearts being anti-Torah but any other colour of heart being mere decoration. I do agree that Rabbi Falk’s book has many good points, but it seems like he drowns out a lot of those opints in rhetoric and being extra-machmir for the sake of being machmir.
    Is Daughters of Dignity any less extreme? Would you recommend it to someone like me?
    By the way, this blog is an inspiration. It’s nice to see all the ways you make tznius beautiful.

Leave a Reply

