From my letterbox: preggo chic

Hi,
I stumbled upon your website… maybe you have some advice.

I am five months pregnant and I’m having an awful time trying to find maternity clothing that will keep me covered while not making me look like i’m in some kind of mismatched ridiculous outfit. My biggest problem is that I find that maternity shirts never go with skirts as the shirts are so flowy. In general (pre-pregnancy), I wear tops that are more fitted since I find that skirts just look ridiculous with long flowy tops. any ideas on a solution?

Thanks,
Ilana

B’shaah Tovah! Quite a number of FrumFashionista readers are sporting the belly bump this season. If you are working on a budget, then there are three things you must grapple with:

  1. am I willing to use work clothes for shabbos and vice versa?
  2. do I have the patience to search high and low for sales?
  3. what can I find that will transition nicely from summer to fall?

Right now, fall/winter stuff is on sale. Your best bet right now is to pick up 2 – 3 Fall pieces that will carry you through the end of your pregnancy. Many pregnant women go through at least one season of cooler weather. So you don’t need so many pieces that are cold weather ready. The rest of your preggo chic wardrobe should be full of pieces that are layerable, high quality and inexpensive. The center pieces should be neutrals and your accessories, such as jewelry and shoes, will be your pops of color.

If you have a cuff bracelet use that during the summer, with a nice pair of sandals and glam tote. Flats you can use during the summer as well as the beginning of fall.

Use tall/ankle boots during the fall. I tend to wear boots year-round, but I’m crazy like that…

For handbags, use a slouchy hobo or a satchel for the fall.

Here’s the thing…many retail chain maternity shirts are tunic length. Maternity stores that sell pants tend to make tunic tops because they hang over pants better. Does that make sense?

Flowy, bohemian maternity shirts can be tricky… you best bets would be to pair your current tops with skirts like:

The key is to make sure the skirts are slim cut and sleek and/or has a heavy drape…to balances the airiness of the top. Add a pair of slingbacks or embellished flip-flops and you’re good to go!

Here are my suggestions for work:
get 2-4 shells from Lilo Maternity. They are pricey but I have gotten so many raves about the fit of their tops. Plus, you can use the to layer w/o adding crazy bulk. Lilo is running a 10% sale of regular price items + free shipping for orders $100 and up.
The most expensive item in this set is the maternity jacket for $30 from the gap.

Here are my suggestions for casual gear:

If you job allows you to wear jeans to work by all means use the dark denim skirt to your advantage. It’s $56 but it’s a year round piece that you can easily dress up or down. For fall, you can pair it with a pair of leggings, boots/flats, and a top and you’re done! I wear my dark denim skirts often! The other skirts you can get away with wearing to work as well with no problem.

Good luck and hope that helps!

38 thoughts on “From my letterbox: preggo chic

  1. in terms of tops. I found so far it was easier to buy regular tops that have some stretch are gauzy a size or two up. ie I”m buying tops in 2x. ie just plus. versus the maternity tops that either don’t fit my chest(actually didn’t fit at like 6 weeks) or their plus which looks like omg whale about to deliver.

  2. in terms of tops. I found so far it was easier to buy regular tops that have some stretch are gauzy a size or two up. ie I”m buying tops in 2x. ie just plus. versus the maternity tops that either don’t fit my chest(actually didn’t fit at like 6 weeks) or their plus which looks like omg whale about to deliver.

  3. in terms of tops. I found so far it was easier to buy regular tops that have some stretch are gauzy a size or two up. ie I”m buying tops in 2x. ie just plus. versus the maternity tops that either don’t fit my chest(actually didn’t fit at like 6 weeks) or their plus which looks like omg whale about to deliver.

  4. Old Navy is running a sale on the gauzy peasant tops so that might be a good idea…
    For me, regular tops didn’t cute it because I carried super high and my chest got crazy huge, LOL!

  5. Old Navy is running a sale on the gauzy peasant tops so that might be a good idea…

    For me, regular tops didn’t cute it because I carried super high and my chest got crazy huge, LOL!

  6. Old Navy is running a sale on the gauzy peasant tops so that might be a good idea…
    For me, regular tops didn’t cute it because I carried super high and my chest got crazy huge, LOL!

  7. I thought my boobs had gotten even mutantly bigger. I mean they look huge on their own. Mike has even commented/noticed both in the good ways and expressing concern I could suffocate him if I so choose. lol
    At like 7weeks I was measured at a 42E.
    I went to motherhood tonite. THey said I was the same size. So I bought the same bra in the same size. But not stretched out. lol
    The bra is a sort cup/stretchy underwire. So it makes sense that it got stretched out.
    I have no freaking clue what I’ll look like in the fall. But right now I’m trying to do dressy casual, for work. ie materntiy skirts and those gauzier cute tops with a shell. So at least I’m not worrying about the gut.
    oh I have a fashion query for you. I bought a really pretty open lace work top. It has a built in tank. ha. I need one of those cute slinky/tight white 3/4 sleeve tops. I’d rahter buy a tight xl, that is body hugging then a plus size. I have a plus one that is gross baggy. Ie I want a fitted under the looser over top

  8. I thought my boobs had gotten even mutantly bigger. I mean they look huge on their own. Mike has even commented/noticed both in the good ways and expressing concern I could suffocate him if I so choose. lol

    At like 7weeks I was measured at a 42E.

    I went to motherhood tonite. THey said I was the same size. So I bought the same bra in the same size. But not stretched out. lol

    The bra is a sort cup/stretchy underwire. So it makes sense that it got stretched out.

    I have no freaking clue what I’ll look like in the fall. But right now I’m trying to do dressy casual, for work. ie materntiy skirts and those gauzier cute tops with a shell. So at least I’m not worrying about the gut.

    oh I have a fashion query for you. I bought a really pretty open lace work top. It has a built in tank. ha. I need one of those cute slinky/tight white 3/4 sleeve tops. I’d rahter buy a tight xl, that is body hugging then a plus size. I have a plus one that is gross baggy. Ie I want a fitted under the looser over top

  9. I thought my boobs had gotten even mutantly bigger. I mean they look huge on their own. Mike has even commented/noticed both in the good ways and expressing concern I could suffocate him if I so choose. lol
    At like 7weeks I was measured at a 42E.
    I went to motherhood tonite. THey said I was the same size. So I bought the same bra in the same size. But not stretched out. lol
    The bra is a sort cup/stretchy underwire. So it makes sense that it got stretched out.
    I have no freaking clue what I’ll look like in the fall. But right now I’m trying to do dressy casual, for work. ie materntiy skirts and those gauzier cute tops with a shell. So at least I’m not worrying about the gut.
    oh I have a fashion query for you. I bought a really pretty open lace work top. It has a built in tank. ha. I need one of those cute slinky/tight white 3/4 sleeve tops. I’d rahter buy a tight xl, that is body hugging then a plus size. I have a plus one that is gross baggy. Ie I want a fitted under the looser over top

  10. I thought my boobs had gotten even mutantly bigger. I mean they look huge on their own. Mike has even commented/noticed both in the good ways and expressing concern I could suffocate him if I so choose. lol

    At like 7weeks I was measured at a 42E.

    I went to motherhood tonite. THey said I was the same size. So I bought the same bra in the same size. But not stretched out. lol

    The bra is a sort cup/stretchy underwire. So it makes sense that it got stretched out.

    I have no freaking clue what I’ll look like in the fall. But right now I’m trying to do dressy casual, for work. ie materntiy skirts and those gauzier cute tops with a shell. So at least I’m not worrying about the gut.

    oh I have a fashion query for you. I bought a really pretty open lace work top. It has a built in tank. ha. I need one of those cute slinky/tight white 3/4 sleeve tops. I’d rahter buy a tight xl, that is body hugging then a plus size. I have a plus one that is gross baggy. Ie I want a fitted under the looser over top

  11. well, did you try out the shells at lilo? They have a ¾ shells that are cut above the belly like this

    and ones that are full length like this:

    essentially you are using it as a layering top so you can go snugger if you wanted to!

  12. well, did you try out the shells at lilo? They have a ¾ shells that are cut above the belly like this

    and ones that are full length like this:

    essentially you are using it as a layering top so you can go snugger if you wanted to!

  13. well, did you try out the shells at lilo? They have a ¾ shells that are cut above the belly like this

    and ones that are full length like this:

    essentially you are using it as a layering top so you can go snugger if you wanted to!

  14. well, did you try out the shells at lilo? They have a ¾ shells that are cut above the belly like this

    and ones that are full length like this:

    essentially you are using it as a layering top so you can go snugger if you wanted to!

  15. Oh BTW, I so know what you mean re: the mutantly huge boobs. At 7 weeks, I hit 38 E…by nine months, I was a 40 G.
    Now that I am a 34G, I shudder to think what my maternity bras are going to look like, oy oy oy!

  16. Oh BTW, I so know what you mean re: the mutantly huge boobs. At 7 weeks, I hit 38 E…by nine months, I was a 40 G.

    Now that I am a 34G, I shudder to think what my maternity bras are going to look like, oy oy oy!

  17. Oh BTW, I so know what you mean re: the mutantly huge boobs. At 7 weeks, I hit 38 E…by nine months, I was a 40 G.

    Now that I am a 34G, I shudder to think what my maternity bras are going to look like, oy oy oy!

  18. Oh BTW, I so know what you mean re: the mutantly huge boobs. At 7 weeks, I hit 38 E…by nine months, I was a 40 G.
    Now that I am a 34G, I shudder to think what my maternity bras are going to look like, oy oy oy!

  19. when I was originally in lilo- they had me try with the shorter shell
    I HATED IT it had that horrible feel as that half asssed sports bra that has detached from your body and is half holding the bottom half of your boob. KNow what I mean.
    that’s a good idea about going for the maternity top. I wasn’t even thinking of maternity I was just thinking in general. lol.
    maybe when i finally get my shit togehter to go to bp to get my wig clip fixed. then i’ll hit lilo
    I bought a shirt similar to this http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=365142&PseudoCat=se-xx-xx-xx.esn_results
    in white- it may be the actual top for like $22.
    that’s what I want to put the t underneath.

  20. when I was originally in lilo- they had me try with the shorter shell

    I HATED IT it had that horrible feel as that half asssed sports bra that has detached from your body and is half holding the bottom half of your boob. KNow what I mean.

    that’s a good idea about going for the maternity top. I wasn’t even thinking of maternity I was just thinking in general. lol.

    maybe when i finally get my shit togehter to go to bp to get my wig clip fixed. then i’ll hit lilo

    I bought a shirt similar to this http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=365142&PseudoCat=se-xx-xx-xx.esn_results
    in white- it may be the actual top for like $22.

    that’s what I want to put the t underneath.

  21. when I was originally in lilo- they had me try with the shorter shell

    I HATED IT it had that horrible feel as that half asssed sports bra that has detached from your body and is half holding the bottom half of your boob. KNow what I mean.

    that’s a good idea about going for the maternity top. I wasn’t even thinking of maternity I was just thinking in general. lol.

    maybe when i finally get my shit togehter to go to bp to get my wig clip fixed. then i’ll hit lilo

    I bought a shirt similar to this http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=365142&PseudoCat=se-xx-xx-xx.esn_results
    in white- it may be the actual top for like $22.

    that’s what I want to put the t underneath.

  22. when I was originally in lilo- they had me try with the shorter shell
    I HATED IT it had that horrible feel as that half asssed sports bra that has detached from your body and is half holding the bottom half of your boob. KNow what I mean.
    that’s a good idea about going for the maternity top. I wasn’t even thinking of maternity I was just thinking in general. lol.
    maybe when i finally get my shit togehter to go to bp to get my wig clip fixed. then i’ll hit lilo
    I bought a shirt similar to this http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=365142&PseudoCat=se-xx-xx-xx.esn_results
    in white- it may be the actual top for like $22.
    that’s what I want to put the t underneath.

  23. Can I tell you mike and I have been together like 7.5 years. Most of that time he’s heard how once I’m done having kids I’m getting a boob reduction because I can’t wait for once in my life to have perky boobs. As I don’t think they were ever perky.
    OMG a G. and I thought I was from the boobs of the dammed.
    the woman in Motherhood was like the bra doesn’t look like it’s too small. But it wasn’t a firm bra that would cause me to go up and over I hate bras that make my tits touch my chin.

  24. Can I tell you mike and I have been together like 7.5 years. Most of that time he’s heard how once I’m done having kids I’m getting a boob reduction because I can’t wait for once in my life to have perky boobs. As I don’t think they were ever perky.

    OMG a G. and I thought I was from the boobs of the dammed.

    the woman in Motherhood was like the bra doesn’t look like it’s too small. But it wasn’t a firm bra that would cause me to go up and over I hate bras that make my tits touch my chin.

  25. Can I tell you mike and I have been together like 7.5 years. Most of that time he’s heard how once I’m done having kids I’m getting a boob reduction because I can’t wait for once in my life to have perky boobs. As I don’t think they were ever perky.

    OMG a G. and I thought I was from the boobs of the dammed.

    the woman in Motherhood was like the bra doesn’t look like it’s too small. But it wasn’t a firm bra that would cause me to go up and over I hate bras that make my tits touch my chin.

  26. Can I tell you mike and I have been together like 7.5 years. Most of that time he’s heard how once I’m done having kids I’m getting a boob reduction because I can’t wait for once in my life to have perky boobs. As I don’t think they were ever perky.
    OMG a G. and I thought I was from the boobs of the dammed.
    the woman in Motherhood was like the bra doesn’t look like it’s too small. But it wasn’t a firm bra that would cause me to go up and over I hate bras that make my tits touch my chin.

Leave a Reply

