Eyeglasses…

I have a love/hate relationship with my eyes. I love that I have two of them and that I am not legally blind. However, I hate that I have to wear glasses/contacts and that although my insurance covers glasses; I typically have to pay at least $70 for lighter lenses. A high index lens would cost me about $180 – $200 extra. I am near-sighted (myopia, for the medical fashionistas) with -10.00 diopter. In essence, my glasses are coke bottles.

These are the frames I picked out today:


Interestingly, the eye doctor asked if I ever considered LASIK surgery. Please, I’ve been wanting that surgery since the early 90s! She thinks I may be a good candidate for it.

However, my Rx is crazy high so most likely, I can’t get 20/20 uncorrected vision post-op and it would be a trickier lazer. But even if I have a lower Rx… that means that I can get glasses w/o paying extra money for thinner lenses.

So now I’m sitting on the strongly considering part of the LASIK fence. Of course, I’m going to several places and reading the FDA’s LASIK page while proceeding with caution.

So any fashionistas considering LASIK or have previously had LASIK?
Discuss!

52 thoughts on “Eyeglasses…

  1. Hahaha, my glasses look a lot like those!

    I wouldn’t go for LASIK. I’m in a similar position to you–very myopic, and I wouldn’t get a 20/20 correction. How much do thinner lenses cost you? Mine are usually an added $40 to the cost of my pair. Will you buy enough lenses in your lifetime to even begin to make back the cost of the surgery? Doesn’t seem worth it to me.
    I’m curious, what’s your prescription. My right eye is 20/900 and my left is 20/550. Ming’s are even worse.

  2. Hahaha, my glasses look a lot like those!

    Photobucket

    I wouldn’t go for LASIK. I’m in a similar position to you–very myopic, and I wouldn’t get a 20/20 correction. How much do thinner lenses cost you? Mine are usually an added $40 to the cost of my pair. Will you buy enough lenses in your lifetime to even begin to make back the cost of the surgery? Doesn’t seem worth it to me.

    I’m curious, what’s your prescription. My right eye is 20/900 and my left is 20/550. Ming’s are even worse.

  3. Hahaha, my glasses look a lot like those!

    I wouldn’t go for LASIK. I’m in a similar position to you–very myopic, and I wouldn’t get a 20/20 correction. How much do thinner lenses cost you? Mine are usually an added $40 to the cost of my pair. Will you buy enough lenses in your lifetime to even begin to make back the cost of the surgery? Doesn’t seem worth it to me.
    I’m curious, what’s your prescription. My right eye is 20/900 and my left is 20/550. Ming’s are even worse.

  4. My friend Patricia had her eyes done, and she lost all of her night vision. She went back for them to correct it, and it made things even worse. Now she needs a different prescription AND she can’t drive after dark. 😦
    I’m sticking with glasses, thanks.

  5. My friend Patricia had her eyes done, and she lost all of her night vision. She went back for them to correct it, and it made things even worse. Now she needs a different prescription AND she can’t drive after dark. 😦

    I’m sticking with glasses, thanks.

  6. My friend Patricia had her eyes done, and she lost all of her night vision. She went back for them to correct it, and it made things even worse. Now she needs a different prescription AND she can’t drive after dark. 😦
    I’m sticking with glasses, thanks.

  7. Those frames look great on you.
    I know the risks when it comes to LASIK aren’t as high as they were when the technology was still a lot newer, but I can’t handle the thought of losing my eyesight if something were to, God forbid, go wrong with the procedure. I also don’t find glasses much of a hassle and like how I look in them, so I haven’t considered LASIK.

  8. Those frames look great on you.

    I know the risks when it comes to LASIK aren’t as high as they were when the technology was still a lot newer, but I can’t handle the thought of losing my eyesight if something were to, God forbid, go wrong with the procedure. I also don’t find glasses much of a hassle and like how I look in them, so I haven’t considered LASIK.

  9. Those frames look great on you.
    I know the risks when it comes to LASIK aren’t as high as they were when the technology was still a lot newer, but I can’t handle the thought of losing my eyesight if something were to, God forbid, go wrong with the procedure. I also don’t find glasses much of a hassle and like how I look in them, so I haven’t considered LASIK.

  10. four-eyed geekery
    your glasses are so cute. well for glasses, my lenses are crazy thick. So thick that I refuse to walk in public with glasses unless no one is outside. I have serious deep-set issues about my glasses.
    In order for me to get lenses that are not skanky I have three options:
    polycarbonate lenses: $70 (this is essentially bullet-proof glass)
    asphreic lenses: $120 (the middle of the road and great for those with moderate correction plus or minus 7.00)
    high index: $180 – $200 to get the thinnest lenses possible (which in my case isn’t really that thin…)
    when you consider that I primarily wear contact lenses…the cost skyrockets.
    I wear Proclear and when I got them last year was wearing them bi-weekly. Now, I see that they are on a monthly schedule…so now my costs are $130/yr instead of $300/yr.
    In the nearly 11 years since, I’ve been married I have spent about $4K for glasses/contacts combined.
    That’s a lot of money….

  11. four-eyed geekery

    your glasses are so cute. well for glasses, my lenses are crazy thick. So thick that I refuse to walk in public with glasses unless no one is outside. I have serious deep-set issues about my glasses.

    In order for me to get lenses that are not skanky I have three options:
    polycarbonate lenses: $70 (this is essentially bullet-proof glass)
    asphreic lenses: $120 (the middle of the road and great for those with moderate correction plus or minus 7.00)
    high index: $180 – $200 to get the thinnest lenses possible (which in my case isn’t really that thin…)

    when you consider that I primarily wear contact lenses…the cost skyrockets.
    I wear Proclear and when I got them last year was wearing them bi-weekly. Now, I see that they are on a monthly schedule…so now my costs are $130/yr instead of $300/yr.

    In the nearly 11 years since, I’ve been married I have spent about $4K for glasses/contacts combined.

    That’s a lot of money….

  12. four-eyed geekery
    your glasses are so cute. well for glasses, my lenses are crazy thick. So thick that I refuse to walk in public with glasses unless no one is outside. I have serious deep-set issues about my glasses.
    In order for me to get lenses that are not skanky I have three options:
    polycarbonate lenses: $70 (this is essentially bullet-proof glass)
    asphreic lenses: $120 (the middle of the road and great for those with moderate correction plus or minus 7.00)
    high index: $180 – $200 to get the thinnest lenses possible (which in my case isn’t really that thin…)
    when you consider that I primarily wear contact lenses…the cost skyrockets.
    I wear Proclear and when I got them last year was wearing them bi-weekly. Now, I see that they are on a monthly schedule…so now my costs are $130/yr instead of $300/yr.
    In the nearly 11 years since, I’ve been married I have spent about $4K for glasses/contacts combined.
    That’s a lot of money….

  13. Re: four-eyed geekery
    My lenses are 1/4″ thick and I go out with them ,but I know people have different comfort levels with that sort of thing. I only recently started owning mine and wearing them; I wore contacts throughout my teen years. But when I first put them on again, I actually thought, “well, thank goodness I already have a boyfriend.”
    FWIW, I think you’re really cute in them.
    My lenses are polycarbonate (its a very lightweight plastic, does that sound right?) with some special coating that makes them thinner. My insurance covers the lenses, and I pay for the caoting.
    It actually sounds like for you, LASIK might make financial sense. After you get the surgery, you might be able to buy your glasses online from a place like ZenniOptical.com, if your prescription is an easy one.

  14. Re: four-eyed geekery

    My lenses are 1/4″ thick and I go out with them ,but I know people have different comfort levels with that sort of thing. I only recently started owning mine and wearing them; I wore contacts throughout my teen years. But when I first put them on again, I actually thought, “well, thank goodness I already have a boyfriend.”

    FWIW, I think you’re really cute in them.

    My lenses are polycarbonate (its a very lightweight plastic, does that sound right?) with some special coating that makes them thinner. My insurance covers the lenses, and I pay for the caoting.

    It actually sounds like for you, LASIK might make financial sense. After you get the surgery, you might be able to buy your glasses online from a place like ZenniOptical.com, if your prescription is an easy one.

  15. Re: four-eyed geekery
    My lenses are 1/4″ thick and I go out with them ,but I know people have different comfort levels with that sort of thing. I only recently started owning mine and wearing them; I wore contacts throughout my teen years. But when I first put them on again, I actually thought, “well, thank goodness I already have a boyfriend.”
    FWIW, I think you’re really cute in them.
    My lenses are polycarbonate (its a very lightweight plastic, does that sound right?) with some special coating that makes them thinner. My insurance covers the lenses, and I pay for the caoting.
    It actually sounds like for you, LASIK might make financial sense. After you get the surgery, you might be able to buy your glasses online from a place like ZenniOptical.com, if your prescription is an easy one.

  16. Thanks!
    The risks with the earlier versions of LASIK is what held me off. The thought of having no vision terrifies me.
    I think that’s cool that you’re O.K. with your glasses. I wish I was confident like that when it comes to glasses.
    I am so not OK with glasses. Every time I put them on, I literally fight back tears because they are so not me. Glasses to me = 10 years of public school torture. The first time I wore a pair of contact lenses I became myself. Coke bottles were no longer a barrier in my life.

  17. Thanks!

    The risks with the earlier versions of LASIK is what held me off. The thought of having no vision terrifies me.

    I think that’s cool that you’re O.K. with your glasses. I wish I was confident like that when it comes to glasses.

    I am so not OK with glasses. Every time I put them on, I literally fight back tears because they are so not me. Glasses to me = 10 years of public school torture. The first time I wore a pair of contact lenses I became myself. Coke bottles were no longer a barrier in my life.

  18. Thanks!
    The risks with the earlier versions of LASIK is what held me off. The thought of having no vision terrifies me.
    I think that’s cool that you’re O.K. with your glasses. I wish I was confident like that when it comes to glasses.
    I am so not OK with glasses. Every time I put them on, I literally fight back tears because they are so not me. Glasses to me = 10 years of public school torture. The first time I wore a pair of contact lenses I became myself. Coke bottles were no longer a barrier in my life.

  19. Re: four-eyed geekery
    Polycarbonate lenses are great for children’s glasses because they don’t shatter and they are lightweight. My lenses are slightly thicker than a 1/4″ at the edges. All my insurance will cover is standard frames/lenses…I wouldn’t even wear those in the house.
    I forgot to mention that cost for the contact lens accessories like solution were not even included. I buy Clear Care which is $17 for a double pack. It’s gentle and my eyes are happy. Plunk another $2K for that, LOL!
    Thank goodness I found a cute pair of frames… otherwise I would really be upset!

  20. Re: four-eyed geekery

    Polycarbonate lenses are great for children’s glasses because they don’t shatter and they are lightweight. My lenses are slightly thicker than a 1/4″ at the edges. All my insurance will cover is standard frames/lenses…I wouldn’t even wear those in the house.

    I forgot to mention that cost for the contact lens accessories like solution were not even included. I buy Clear Care which is $17 for a double pack. It’s gentle and my eyes are happy. Plunk another $2K for that, LOL!

    Thank goodness I found a cute pair of frames… otherwise I would really be upset!

  21. Re: four-eyed geekery
    Polycarbonate lenses are great for children’s glasses because they don’t shatter and they are lightweight. My lenses are slightly thicker than a 1/4″ at the edges. All my insurance will cover is standard frames/lenses…I wouldn’t even wear those in the house.
    I forgot to mention that cost for the contact lens accessories like solution were not even included. I buy Clear Care which is $17 for a double pack. It’s gentle and my eyes are happy. Plunk another $2K for that, LOL!
    Thank goodness I found a cute pair of frames… otherwise I would really be upset!

  22. I have a similar prescription (-9.25, -9.5) and i would never get lasik just to wear thinner lenses especially in middle age because your prescription starts going the other way in a few years. But I am curious why you pay so much for eyeglasses. Once you know your PD you can just send off your old frame to an internet place and get new high index lenses for $40.

  23. I have a similar prescription (-9.25, -9.5) and i would never get lasik just to wear thinner lenses especially in middle age because your prescription starts going the other way in a few years. But I am curious why you pay so much for eyeglasses. Once you know your PD you can just send off your old frame to an internet place and get new high index lenses for $40.

  24. I have a similar prescription (-9.25, -9.5) and i would never get lasik just to wear thinner lenses especially in middle age because your prescription starts going the other way in a few years. But I am curious why you pay so much for eyeglasses. Once you know your PD you can just send off your old frame to an internet place and get new high index lenses for $40.

  25. I find this geekery fascinating, as I just go into my local frame store, pick out what I want, pay whatever and walk out. I’m myopic as well and pretty blind.
    I’ve never had insurance that covered glasses, and I’ll be dammned if I leave with an ugly as sin pair. So, the attached price tag is worth it [from the girl who is wearing YSL glasses as we speak].
    I would never get LASIK. It’s a laser- in your eye. ‘Nuff said.
    Your new frames remind me of last pair, my Hugo Bosses They met their demise at a Ministry concert last year:

    You look good in those frames!

  26. I find this geekery fascinating, as I just go into my local frame store, pick out what I want, pay whatever and walk out. I’m myopic as well and pretty blind.

    I’ve never had insurance that covered glasses, and I’ll be dammned if I leave with an ugly as sin pair. So, the attached price tag is worth it [from the girl who is wearing YSL glasses as we speak].

    I would never get LASIK. It’s a laser- in your eye. ‘Nuff said.

    Your new frames remind me of last pair, my Hugo Bosses They met their demise at a Ministry concert last year:
    Milhouse Moment

    You look good in those frames!

  27. I find this geekery fascinating, as I just go into my local frame store, pick out what I want, pay whatever and walk out. I’m myopic as well and pretty blind.
    I’ve never had insurance that covered glasses, and I’ll be dammned if I leave with an ugly as sin pair. So, the attached price tag is worth it [from the girl who is wearing YSL glasses as we speak].
    I would never get LASIK. It’s a laser- in your eye. ‘Nuff said.
    Your new frames remind me of last pair, my Hugo Bosses They met their demise at a Ministry concert last year:

    You look good in those frames!

  28. Several cousins of mine (on the super blind! side of the family) have had lasik, and it went very well for them. Personally, in a case like yours, I would just do it- your life will be so much easier without coke bottle glasses (or being hindered in the middle of the night when you get up to pee, and don’t bother putting the glasses on). And you can always get a pair of fake ones, just for fun- I have a pair from Claire’s (8 dollars and they look really cute!)

  29. Several cousins of mine (on the super blind! side of the family) have had lasik, and it went very well for them. Personally, in a case like yours, I would just do it- your life will be so much easier without coke bottle glasses (or being hindered in the middle of the night when you get up to pee, and don’t bother putting the glasses on). And you can always get a pair of fake ones, just for fun- I have a pair from Claire’s (8 dollars and they look really cute!)

  30. Several cousins of mine (on the super blind! side of the family) have had lasik, and it went very well for them. Personally, in a case like yours, I would just do it- your life will be so much easier without coke bottle glasses (or being hindered in the middle of the night when you get up to pee, and don’t bother putting the glasses on). And you can always get a pair of fake ones, just for fun- I have a pair from Claire’s (8 dollars and they look really cute!)

  31. The only plus side to being myopic is that our need for reading glasses is less.
    If I get LASIK, that goes out the window.
    My old frames are broken beyond repair which is what pushed me to get glasses in the first place. My FIL is an optics geek and he flipped out when I got a pair at LensCrafters once. He doesn’t like Cohen’s either. I can just see him imploded at the thought of getting internet frames…

  32. The only plus side to being myopic is that our need for reading glasses is less.

    If I get LASIK, that goes out the window.

    My old frames are broken beyond repair which is what pushed me to get glasses in the first place. My FIL is an optics geek and he flipped out when I got a pair at LensCrafters once. He doesn’t like Cohen’s either. I can just see him imploded at the thought of getting internet frames…

  33. The only plus side to being myopic is that our need for reading glasses is less.
    If I get LASIK, that goes out the window.
    My old frames are broken beyond repair which is what pushed me to get glasses in the first place. My FIL is an optics geek and he flipped out when I got a pair at LensCrafters once. He doesn’t like Cohen’s either. I can just see him imploded at the thought of getting internet frames…

  34. ITA, LASIK scares the living beejebus out of me…remember how I cringed at the eye squick you posted?
    Hubster bought me a pair of glasses when we first got married. He ended up sitting on the them and breaking them after nagging me about being careless with them.
    Never again…LOL!

  35. ITA, LASIK scares the living beejebus out of me…remember how I cringed at the eye squick you posted?

    Hubster bought me a pair of glasses when we first got married. He ended up sitting on the them and breaking them after nagging me about being careless with them.

    Never again…LOL!

  36. ITA, LASIK scares the living beejebus out of me…remember how I cringed at the eye squick you posted?
    Hubster bought me a pair of glasses when we first got married. He ended up sitting on the them and breaking them after nagging me about being careless with them.
    Never again…LOL!

  37. Oh BTW, how do I get my Rx/measurements from my eye doctor. I figured they would want to keep that info to keep me from buying internet frames…
    Which internet place do you recommend?

  38. Oh BTW, how do I get my Rx/measurements from my eye doctor. I figured they would want to keep that info to keep me from buying internet frames…

    Which internet place do you recommend?

  39. Oh BTW, how do I get my Rx/measurements from my eye doctor. I figured they would want to keep that info to keep me from buying internet frames…
    Which internet place do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

