Spring into summer: Sheital chat

I love sheitals. I border on obsessing about them as much as hair… Last week, I bought a Milano pony wig; the hair was very nice. I will review the Milano Brooklyn showroom tomorrow. I will post pics of the wig I purchased; both the interior and the exterior so stay tuned…

Now that I have a wavy sheital I have several things to consider. Like how I am going to care for it? Look here, for general sheital care! Most people wash their human hair wigs with regular shampoo and conditioner. You can get away with this…however there are some things to consider. If you buy a inexpensive human hair wig in a lighter color (like blonde) most likely you are dealing with color-treated hair. Therefore you should be using a shampoo made expressly for that hair type. This also helps slow down the inevitable fading of the wig.

My personal recommendations are:

Pantene Pro-V Expressions Daily Color Enhancing Shampoo with Liquid Crystals (brunette shown)
also in black, blonde, and red, $5.99, drugstore.com


L’Oreal Color Vive conditioner, $4.99, drugstore.com
You can also find them at any major chain such as CVS/Pharmacy, Duane Reade, Rite Aid, Target, Walmart, Walgreens, Kmart.

I have to consider buying shampoo for my natural hair as well. So I may be able to get away with using a shampoo for color-treated hair for my relaxed tresses!
Tomorrow, I’m going to my local beauty supply store:

wig pick, $2-$3


wig shine spray, $3


Organics Hair Mayonnaise Leave in conditioner, $4
or if I find my precious SEDAL… I’ll get that!

17 thoughts on “Spring into summer: Sheital chat

  1. Pantene is very, very addictive.
    That was the one thing I missed about having hair…buying Pantene. The only one I don’t like is the Pantene Relaxed and Natural. That made my skin break out. Regular Pantene for Dry Hair I can deal with!

  2. Re: Pantene is very, very addictive.
    I went through so little shampoo when I had a buzz cut! Now I use so much, I’m wondering if Ming is pouring it down the drain secretly.

  3. I realize you haven’t had time to do a full review of the milano experience.
    IS it worth it for me to go in? As far as I know the coupon is good through tuesday.
    I figure between that and knocking out some produce shopping. It would be worth the trip.
    what do you think?

  4. Re: Pantene is very, very addictive.
    Costco, BJ’s, and Sam’s Club are lifesavers when it comes to shampoo/conditioner. I need to get my license so I can rent a zip car and go to BJ’s again 🙂

  5. Re: You should go down there.
    hahaha
    I just saw the title in my in box
    “You should go down there”
    I’m thinking about it…I’m quasi mapquesting the best route to go from there- say underworld- and then boro park- coney island.

  6. I’m kind of freaked out by the idea of mayonnaise leave-in conditioner. Wouldn’t that…smell? Wouldn’t it feel like…you had a bunch of mayo in your hair?!
    Sheitals seem like an awful lot of work! I didn’t realize that you had to wash them like regular hair, but I guess that makes sense if you are styling them all the time. What’s it like to wash a sheital? Do you wear it while you do it or do you just lather it up in the sink?

  7. It doesn’t smell bad at all! It’s more herbal than eggy. Leave in conditioners tend to be more a thin liquid consistency.
    As for washing sheitals, the most work I put in is brushing out the tangles before I wash it.
    I put it in a dishpan (you can also wash it in the sink) put a teaspoon of shampoo in the water. I wash the headband of the wig (where it meets the forehead) really well. I swish the wig gently in the water for a minute; then soak it for 15 min. I usually put on my face mask at that time. Then I rinse it under running water. I haven’t washed my human hair sheital yet so I can’t tell you how hard that is.

Leave a Reply

