American Classic Essentials

Most of the stuff in this blog fall under American classic: the tweed and pencil skirts, the little black dresses, the slingbacks, are key elements to this style. We’re going to explore menswear inspired pieces: polo shirts, white button-down shirts, and tweed skirts! Not a ruffle to be found in the bunch.

Just streamlined yet still feminine pieces!

American Classic Essentials

shirts and tops:

white button-down shirt
cotton, size S-XL, $60, J. Crew



full-range button-down
(shown in french blue)
cotton/XLA blend, $50 (for Regular/Petites,)
$55 for Plus/Tall size, Eddie Bauer


3/4-sleeve polo
100% cotton, sizes 2 – 14, also in white,
light blue and black, $78, Lacoste


affordable 3/4 polo
100% cotton, sizes XS-XL, “Camp,” by Esprit, shown in Dark Green
also available in White, Black, Cream, Light Green,
Light Pink, Bright Pink and Gray, $24, Junee’s

sweaters:


shawl-collar cardigan
wool/cashmere, sizes 2 – 12, $118, Nordstrom


v-neck sweater
100% cotton, size S – XL, Christopher & Banks


lightweight cardigan
100% wool, shown in “jewel sea,” available in 12 additional colors,
sizes XS – 2X (sizes XS – XL in petite and tall,) Gap

skirts:

calf-length corduroy skirt
100% cotton, only in sizes 18 and 20, $49, Orvis


pencil skirt
polyester blend, sizes 0 – 14, $48, Junee’s


plus size corduroy skirt
stretch cotton, 16W – 24W, also in regular/ petite size, $30, Lands’ End


sleek tweed skirt
“Tina,” size XS – L, $34, Junee’s

Stay tuned for accessories!

XoXo,
Ariella

6 thoughts on “American Classic Essentials

  1. I have the worst time with button downs. My hips are two sizes bigger than my shoulders, so they either fit in the hips and are so boxy up top that I look like a man, or they fit up top and I can’t button them past my waist. It drives me batty.

  2. For button-downs I have the worse time too because I’m busty. What I do is get them to fit the bust perfectly and then I take it to get tailored.
    My tailor is my BFF!
    Most of the time button-downs are designed to be tucked in. So in your case, I would go up 1 size and tailor to fit. That might be enough to button a little past the waist and it’s not so much to alter. Plus, I chose those specific brands because they have a classic fit rather than a body-conscious fit which by nature is more form-fitting!

Leave a Reply

