Thrift Store Chic

Not all thrift stores are created equally. Even w/in major thrift stores like Salvation Army, there are huge differences in quality sometimes. I was surprised to learn that you can find new things in thrift stores…

One of the best thrift stores I found in the NY/NJ area is Mango.
This is a great thift store with fabulous finds. Good brands such as J. Crew, Lands’ End, LL Bean, Jones New York and DKNY among others! (they carry plus size and petite.) You can also get your accessories fix with shoes and bags. They have men’s and children’s clothing as well.

Mango
first location: just 4 blocks from the NJ Transit Linden train station.
453 N Wood Ave
Linden, NJ 07036
(908) 486-2788

second location:
718 W Saint Georges Ave (near Stiles St.)
Linden, NJ 07036
(908) 486-7815

You may have to do minimal digging but the racks are superbly organized and stocked. When was the last time you seen this in a retail shop?l

Salvation Army Thrift Store-Hell’s Kitchen
536 West 46th Street
New York, New York
(212) 757-2311

They have everything from designer strollers like Peg Perego for $40 to NWT Vera Wang clothing. Find your local Salvation Army store here!

Golden Shoestring
149 Larchmont Avenue
Larchmont, New York 10538
(914) 834-8383
I haven’t been here since is on Long Island but I’ve heard good things about this store over the years.

Kaufman’s Army and Navy
319 West 42nd Street
New York, New York
(212) 757-5670

I love this place. Kaufman’s is a NYC institution. I got my first pair of combat boots from this place! The pea coats are wonderful too!

Goodwill
Goodwill carries men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing. They are gently worn or NWT. They do have a fast turnover and carry high quality items. Call your local store and find out which day items go on sale. The Goodwill I used to go to had sales every Thursday. They also have online auctions.

Of course, there are also gemachs. Luach is a great source for finding gemachs! However, I realize not everyone has easy access to gemachs. So hence, the focus on thrift stores.

What are your fav thrift/consignment stores? Discuss fashionistas!

4 thoughts on “Thrift Store Chic

  1. We have a string of stores up here in Canada called Value Village. They call themselves “thrift department stores”. Sometimes they have really awesome finds…the key word being “sometimes”. I’ve scored some awesome clothes there – but I’ve also seen some awful, unspeakable outfits that make me question what people were thinking (orange and seafoam taffeta? Really?).
    There’s a store in Toronto called Rubenesque that sells used plus-size womyn’s clothing. I’ve always wanted to check them out.

  2. The orange and seafoam gear sounds like some of the questionable outfits in Marshalls.
    I wish seafoam would be banned. I think it’s a way for brides to torture their bridesmaids.
    Rubenesque sounds like a cool place!

  3. I always buy my skirts at thrift stores because I don’t really need to try them on. Tznius tops that don’t need ironing is more tricky. Those I buy from Chadwick’s. I am on the hunt for quality cashmere sweaters second hand.
    I enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

