The beauty supply store is a wonderland.

If it’s a really good one that is.

For the most part, I like my local beauty supply:
Erev Shabbos, I was toying with sheital options.

Synthetics are awesome if you get the right brand/fit!


Shocking I know.

The type of synthetic wigs I get have a wefted cap (a.k.a. “capless”) I like the Motown Tress wigs because they have a skin top which is awesome. It’s the right color…not too dark nor too light. They are also inexpensive which makes me happy because I can buy more shoes 😛 Seriously, I like the fibers because for the most part; they aren’t itchy and they are silky toyokalon fibers. This is Motown Tress “Streak”

The other wig I pick up is Motown Tress “Kingston”

Flippy…

I also found, a ginormous tub of St. Ives Apricot Scrub for $4 (yum!) it’s good for all skin types. I got all skippety because I found Queen Helene’s Mint Julep mask for $3. Great for those with oily or acne-prone skin. It’s cheap, smells like spearmint gum, and you can see it soak up all that gross oil. Yay!

I also picked up two styrofoam heads for my new sheitals. It’s freaky looking a disembodied head w/o features. *shudders*

Tomorrow, I will go shopping and you get to see the goodies!

2 thoughts on “The beauty supply store is a wonderland.

  1. I liek the ones you got.
    A couple questions:
    But how do you care for a synthetic?
    what do you consider a good price?
    Once it turns into a ‘rats nest’ is there any way to save it?

  2. Thank you!
    You see the scary thing about the beauty supply store is how ratty some of the wigs look. I have to take a deep breath and remember that so many people try them on.
    Basically, I wear a wig cap underneath. That helps absorb some of the oil (what little there is) from my scalp from getting on the cap.
    The upkeep is pretty simple:
    Use a wig brush (a regular hair brush will stretch the synthetic fibers) or a wig comb.
    Wash it in cold or lukewarm water with wig shampoo (the bottle has to say good for synthetic wigs) in a dishbasin. Then, I rinse it until the water comes clear and spray on some conditioner. No wringing/twisting. I never manhandle them!
    Then I put it on the stand to dry. If it’s tangled, then I finger comb the knots out. I don’t use a comb/brush it when it’s wet.
    I do have to avoid heat sources like the oven/steam/open flames. Then again, you probably have to do that with a human hair sheital as well. Personally, I don’t think you should apply heat i.e. hair dryer/curling iron/hot rollers to any wig: synthetic or not.
    I put on a tichel/snood when I cook.
    Now, professionals who cut/style wigs usually have a steamer in their arsenal. The steamer can help wigs that have turned ratty depending on how extensive the damage is. I’m not about to attempt a DIY version of that, LOL
    The price for a synthetic wigs depends on the area you live in and where you go. A basic synthetic wigs shouldn’t cost more than $30 – $40. Now monofilament synthetic wigs for African-American wigs are harder to find but they are out there. They usually cost between $40 – $60. Keep in mind these are black beauty supply stores in da hood, I’m talking about. Other areas may be at the upper range I listed or 10% higher than the upper range.
    What I love about synthetics is that once they are dry, all I have to do usually is to give it a little brushing and that’s it. I can style a straight one with soft rollers and light-hold hair spray for some waves if I felt like it.

Leave a Reply

