ACK! Another skin care post.

I have to apologize to my fellow fashionistas!  I just moved and I was lax with my fashion posts before hand.  Now I have to get back into the swing of things…

As per,

‘s request, I’m posting a skin care post.  

 has combination skin (she has to deal with dry skin and acne.)  I have this skin type too and believe me it is tricky to deal with.

{skin}

What happens with people who suffer from combination skin is that they have to deal with dry patches and oil slicks!  The oily parts are over-compensating so to speak!  So it’s a challenge to keep this skin type happy.

Also, my skin tends to get oilier during the summer so I’m a hot, oily mess with two dry patches.  (Other factors include: makeup, smoking, hormones, and stress!)

Things You’ll Need:

  • Moisturizing cleanser
  • Toner for combination skin
  • Lightweight daily moisturizer
  • Exfoliant
  • *Pore strips*
  • The perfect makeup
  • Cotton balls
  • Night cream
  • Eye moisturizer
  • Water

General Instructions:

  1. Avoid using cleansers that target oily or dry skin.  Get a cleanser specifically for Combination (or Normal to Oily in a pinch) skin. Use a cleanser that is moisturizing instead of drying or milky. Cleanse the skin twice daily, once in the morning and once in the evening.  Over-washing will strip the skin.
  2. Exfoliate a few times a week to remove dry skin and help cut back on blackheads. Concentrate on blackhead problems by using porecleansing strips. Follow the manufacturer instructions for the best results.
  3. Apply a moisturizing toner to your entire face after cleansing and exfoliating. Put a small amount on a cotton ball and smooth it over your entire face. Let the toner dry before applying moisturizer.
  4. **Moisturize your skin daily. Moisturize dry portions of your skin twice daily. Use an all-purpose moisturizer for combination skin in the mornings. Apply a rich facial cream to your dry areas at night. Use a lightweight moisturizer that is oil free for your oily areas at night time.**
  5. Always use an eye cream to moisturize the delicate area around your eye. Do not use heavy creams or all purpose moisturizers around your eyes. They can cause clogged pores and damage the delicate skin.
  6. Drink plenty of water to keep hydrated.  This helps both the dry and oily parts!

My Current Arsenal:


The best department store/boutique brand for combination skin is Boscia!  The best department store/boutique brand for zapping zits is Philosophy!  That stuff got rid of zits that I had for years within a week.  But it’s super strong!

My Sephora Arsenal:
AM:

  • On A Clear Day Super Wash For Oily Skin, 1 oz  (on the oily parts)
  • Boscia Balancing Facial Tonic
  • On A Clear Day Blemish Serum for Adult Acne, 1 oz
  • On A Clear Day Hydrogen Peroxide Cream (dotted on the zits and shiny spots)
  • Dior  HydrAction Creme Sorbet(all over).


PM:

  • Boscia Purifying Cleansing Gel, 1.86 oz
  • Boscia Balancing Facial Tonic
  • Boscia Recharging Night Moisture

If I had to choose I would go for the Boscia line and pick up the Philosophy blemish serum!

The Philosophy Oxygen peel is the bomb!

Also, some makeup acts really screwy with combination skin.  Oil-free and non-comedogenic should be on the bottle.  So far, Aromaleigh Mineral Makeup has worked out nicely for me!  The Glissade formula is best if your skin is on the drier/sensitive side.  The Voile is great is your skin is on the oilier tip!

Another great makeup brand is Smashbox!  I don’t get clogged and my dry patches are happy!

Also look at the shampoo you’re washing your hair with.  Your shampoo/hair products could be triggering oil flare ups.  My hair is drier than a brit’s humour so I wash my hair before my face.  Does that make sense?


*RE: Biore strips.  These only work for people with blackheads/huge pores.  They didn’t do much for me.  I couldn’t pull them off…I had to wet the strip to get them off.  They worked wonders for the hubster though!*

**Moisturizers** Take this with a grain of salt.  Don’t put a moisturizer that’s super rich on the dry parts unless you know it won’t make you break out…. I can’t stress this enough!  That’s why I cough up the extra cash and get the Dior because it’s lightweight and handles the parched spots w/o me waking up to Krakatowa!

Give me a couple of hours to come up with an eye cream recommendation!

6 thoughts on “ACK! Another skin care post.

  1. You know, I really respect people who can work a 12 Step Program.
    I can’t commit to more than exfoliating and moisturizing! ;-P
    I have the combination skin of doom. I am also super lazy about it. Here’s what I do. I got this fabulous microfiber washcloth off of Ebay. http://cgi.ebay.com/Clean-your-Body-Face-with-Spa-Cloth-Microdermabrasion_W0QQitemZ310062309419QQihZ021QQcategoryZ101925QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    I love these things. I almost never have to use cleansing products on my face anymore. These will buff you up like a baby’s bottom.
    After that, I use jojoba oil by Desert Escense. I take two or three drops on my fingertips and massage it all over my face and neck, right up to the hairline. Jojoba oil has a very unique property to it. Not only does is NOT clog your pores, but it dissolves the oils and waxes that can build up in your pores and helps your skin breathe better. I have gotten rid of about 98% of my deep cystic acne problems, and 100% of my smaller zits and blackheads. My pores look smaller, and fine lines are disappearing. I use the oil at night, and if I’m shiny in the morning I just blot a bit and then apply loose powder. The oil will not clump up in your powder, and actually it helps your powder last longer! (I don’t use any sort of cream foundations, just loose mineral powders.)
    Easy peasy! No harsh chemicals, no zillions of bottles of product to fumble with. Super cheap and good for the environment, too!
    BTW, I’m 43, and people always guess my age to be around 10 or so years younger, like early 30’s.

  2. I knew you’d come through…
    I tried jojoba oil once and it felt so greasy. But I think that’s because it probably wasn’t 100% pure.
    Thanks for the cloth suggestion too! I’ve been looking for a nice face cloth. A lot of scrubbing cloths are scratchy!
    I’m very regimented. If the jojoba oil works then I’ll switch.
    Until I get my hands on some, I’ll stick with what I have.

  3. Re: I knew you’d come through…
    Make sure that you only use 100% jojoba. Other oils do not have the same properties, and some companies use horrible cheap fillers. If you still feel a bit greasy in the morning, swipe a dry microfiber cloth across your face to remove the surface oil, and then use the loose powder.
    A bottle of jojoba oil will last you for at least a year or so, so pay for the really good stuff. You should only need two or three drops every evening. I don’t apply it in the morning because your skin only repairs itself at night. It would be a waste of product and make me too shiny during the day.

  4. Re: I knew you’d come through…
    Here’s what I look like today. I put my hair in pincurls last night. My hair is normally stick straight.
    No makeup!
    IMG_3988
    Not too bad for an old lady, eh?

Leave a Reply

